About Us

Introduction

The Children’s Aid Society National Center for Community Schools is a practice-based technical assistance center that builds the capacity of schools, districts, and community partners to organize their human and financial resources around student success. Our expertise draws on 24 years of experience operating community schools in New York City and on 22 years of national and international implementation assistance. Since our inception in 1994, we have provided training, consultation, and other forms of support to nearly all of the country’s major community school initiatives, helping them to design, implement, and sustain community schools to meet the unique needs and strengths of their communities. Services are targeted to individual schools, school boards and district administrators, funders, education reform leaders, community organizations, parent associations, policy makers, universities, and research centers.
 

Our Team

Our highly qualified team consists of educators, social workers, and public policy experts who understand both the strategic and operational aspects of community schools:
CAS Vice President and NCCS Director
Senior Director, National Capacity Building
Director of Special Projects
Director of Regional Initiatives
Director of Public Policy
Policy Analyst
Manager, CAS City Connects Program
Senior Associate
Program Assistant
Office Manager
Jane Quinn
Janice Chu-Zhu
Lissette Gomez
Lukas Weinstein
Yolanda McBride
Terry Kim
Ronald Cope 
Abe Fernandez
Gail Grandison
Elizabeth Merle
janeq@childrensaidsociety.org
janicec@childrensaidsociety.org
lgomez1@childrensaidsociety.org
lukasw@childrensaidsociety.org
ymcbride@childrensaidsociety.org
tkim@childrensaidsociety.org
rcope@childrensaidsociety.org
abef@childrensaidsociety.org
gailg@childrensaidsociety.org
elizabeth.merle@childrensaidsociety.org
 

Topics on Which We Have Expertise

  • Forging strategic partnerships between schools and community resources
  • Out-of-school time program quality, including selecting age-appropriate curricular resources
  • Building and promoting staff quality
  • Program development
  • Financing and sustainability
  • Child and adolescent development; addressing the needs of the whole child
  • Parent and family engagement, education, and leadership
  • Needs assessment and responsive planning
  • Connecting research and practice